1. Statement of policy

The Investor Compensation Company Limited (ICC) pledges to meet fully recognised standards of personal data privacy protection in complying with the requirements of the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance (PDPO). In doing so, the ICC strives to ensure compliance by our staff with the strictest standards of security and confidentiality.

2. Data Collection and Use

(a) Personal data submitted in lodging a claim to the ICC will be used, disclosed or transferred only for those purposes related to the claim (for example, it may need to be disclosed to the person/company in respect of whom a claim has been made), for discharging the ICC's functions or where permitted or required by law. If the information provided is inaccurate or incomplete, consideration of the claim may be affected. A claimant must inform the ICC by writing to the address set out below, if he/she would like to keep his/her identity confidential or if he/she does not want his/her personal data used for purposes related to the claim. In such a case, the ICC may be unable to effectively process the claim.

(b) The information you provide for making enquiries, comments or suggestions is used by the ICC for the purpose of responding to your enquiries, comments or suggestions or for a directly related purpose. The personal data will not be used for any other purposes, disclosed or transferred without your consent, unless such use, disclosure or transfer is permitted or required by law.

3. Retention

(a) The ICC takes all reasonably practicable steps to ensure that personal data will not be kept longer than is necessary for the fulfilment of the purposes (or any directly related purpose) for which the data is or is to be used, unless the retention is otherwise permitted or required by law.

(b) Personal data submitted in lodging a claim to the ICC is retained for such period as may be necessary for the proper discharge of the ICC's functions.

(c) Personal data provided for making enquiries, comments or suggestions will be deleted 90 days after any follow-up action has been completed or the fulfilment of the purposes for which the data was collected.

4. Security

The ICC takes appropriate steps to protect personal data it holds against loss, unauthorised access, use, modification or disclosure.

5. Access and correction

If you wish to request access to and/or correction of your personal data held by the ICC, you may do so in writing addressed to the Data Privacy Officer, the Investor Compensation Company Limited, 21st Floor, Cheung Kong Center, 2 Queen's Road Central, Hong Kong. Please note that all data access requests should be made using the form specified by the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data which is accessible from the following link: "Data Access Request Form". The ICC will handle access and/or correction requests in accordance with the PDPO. When handling a data access or correction request, the ICC will check the identity of the requestor to ensure that he/she is the person legally entitled to make the data access or correction request. The ICC has the right to charge a fee for processing of any data access request.

The ICC does not provide online facilities for you to delete or correct personal data held by the ICC.

1.  私隐政策声明

投资者赔偿有限公司 (本公司) 承诺致力遵守《个人资料 (私稳) 条例》的规定,充分符合有关保障个人资料私隐的公认标准。本公司将竭力履行这项承诺,确保本公司职员遵守最严格的保安及保密标准。

2.  收集及使用个人资料

(a)  向本公司提出申索时所提供的个人资料,只会在与申索有关的用途 (例如可能需要向与申索有关的人士 / 公司披露资料) 、为了履行本公司的职能或法例容许或有所规定的情况下,加以使用、披露或转移。如果申索人所提供的资料不正确或不齐全,有关申索的处理可能会受到影响。申索人如欲将身分保密或不欲将个人资料用于与申索有关的用途,必须以书面形式致函下述地址通知本公司。然而,本公司或会因此未能有效地对投诉作出调查。

(b)  本公司会将你就查询、意见或建议所提供的资料,用于回覆或处理你的查询、意见或建议。除非法例容许或有所规定,否则有关个人资料不会未经你的同意而用作其他用途、予以披露或转移。

3.  保留资料

(a)  本公司会采取一切合理可行的措施,确保个人资料不会保留超过为达致使用或拟使用有关资料的目的 (或任何直接相关目的) 所需的时间,惟法例容许或有所规定者除外。

(b)  向本公司提出申索时所提供的个人资料,将按照本公司妥善履行职能的需要,保留一段适当的时间。

(c)  就查询、意见或建议提供的个人资料,将于任何跟进行动结束之日或已达致收集该资料的目的起计第90天删除。

4.  保护个人资料

本公司采取适当步骤保护本公司持有的个人资料,以免该等资料有所遗失、在未经授权的情况下被查阅、使用、修改或披露。

5.  查阅及更正个人资料

如欲查阅及/或改正本公司持有关于你的个人资料,可致函香港中环皇后大道中二号长江集团中心二十一楼投资者赔偿有限公司,提出有关要求。请注意,所有查阅资料的要求均应以香港个人资料私隐专员公署指明的表格提出,有关表格可透过以下连结取得:"查阅资料要求表格"。本公司会按照《个人资料 (私隐) 条例》处理有关查阅及/或更正资料的要求。

本公司并没有提供网上设施让你删除或更正本公司持有的个人资料。